RULES EDIT: Confirmed Poison with Rules Writer so can 100% confirm that in melee operatives do not become poisoned until after the combat has resolved so you wouldn't be able to poison with first strike then get improved damage with second. Faction point counter for wrecka points is not correct - i was going to try to follow along but they generate and get spent so frequently i just valued my sanity
FYI, Bomb Squigs are Stoopid, which means that they cannot choose a conceal order when activated. That is, they start the game concealed, but the moment you activate them on TP1, they must go on engage. EDIT: Also, at 42:00, when he rolled two 3s, that's a prime time to play Curse Of Rot
@bah9541 yeah that's how we play it 👍🏻 the tokens I think got left as concealed but once we realised they were changed but we know they're on an engage order
Turn 2 you can't hatchway fight while in engagement range of enemy operatives so you should have had to fight the squig. Also the demolisher boy rolls his damage separately for each operative when blowing up
Oh nice! good luck at LVO and most definitely you will come up against them they're both showing up a bunch in the UK meta at the moment. Check the pinned comment if you're into plagues - poison in melee doesn't poison the operative until after the combat resolves so we played it wrong here
22:57 Ryan would have gotten an extra wrecka point here because of kompetitive streak (the target has been shot already this round), which would have been useful for that 0cp destruction in tp3! Awesome bat rep as always though!
Not really. Poison effect is applied immediately once a successful attack die is resolved, but Toxic is a modifier to stats, and operative stats can't be changed in the middle of an action. This is an important distinction, because Toxic won't take affect during the second hit from the Champion's Plague Sword, but his Grandfather's Blessing will.
1:08 I'm hardly into the video, but I was lead to believe that you don't need to choose blight grenades as your equipment selection for the bombardier to use them. He has them already?
but its not a door. hatchways have different rules. opened hatchway is treated as exposed terrain, same as ladders. doors are treated as accessible terrain. correct me if iam wrong its just how i understand it from the rules
@@kllemoKT you got it right, but an opened hatchway is BOTH Exposed and Accessible. Exposed only means you cannot take cover behind it (e.g. for cover, a model's base should be partly behind the part of the hatchway's wall, not right in the doorway) but still keeping the Accessible trait (e.g. a model should pay extra 1" to move through the doorway). The doors themselves, though, are Heavy and Wall, so a model should move around them and not straight through when a hatchway is opened
My wording is baked into last edition - whomever takes the initiative then picks the deployment zone, and deploys first - then scouting decides who decides T1 initiative unless its a draw then whomever didn't get initiative chooses. I don't think they're called attacker/defender anymore but effectively using old terminology 'attacker' picks the side this edition.
You bring up an interesting question of "can you retain a die for a Lethal 5+ weapon that only hits on 5+?" I had this question while attacking with the Corpseman of the Blooded. Since you get Accurate 1 with a blooded token. If you attack in melee can you retain a "non-criting hit"? The rules don't really say whether you are supposed to change all non-6 crits (from Lethal or whatever) into a 6. If you did, then you could retain a 5 as a non-critting hit despite that not being a thing you can actually roll. In general I wish there was a little more clear timing around modifying/retaining dice. For example, with Punishing (or Rending) and Obscured, can you use the crit to change a blank to a hit (or a hit to a crit) then change all crits to normals and remove 1? In other words, when does Obsuring apply with respect to the various dice mods?
Lethal 5+ comes from blast into the dark - close quarters rules - still gives blast and torrent the lethal 5 rule. Haha yeah we went back and forth but ended up in agreement on the normal onlys
Newbie here still trying to understand some rules, The warrior shooting turn 1. Was the shot obscured because of the light barricade in front or the door way made it an obscured shot?
From what I see, there's a fair chance it wasn't obscured. The barricade doesn't count as it isn't Heavy, only the door frame does. But I'd say they don't get in the way of the "Line Of Sight cone" - ofc we can't measure that ourselves, but doesn't look like they do.
Welcome to Kill Team! are you enjoying it so far? so the walls on the open door are heavy and Ryan's rockit man was more than 1'' from where my cover line would cross so he'd get obsuring - the barricades placed are light so can only give cover within 1'' but can never grant obscuring- hope that helps :)
@GFNGaming perfect explanation, thank you! Yes I'm loving kill team. My friends and I have got most of the rules down, just certain situations confuse us but we are still having fun.
Damn, these ITD maps for 3 objectives in KT24 are terrible. They could really use some extra scatter terrain from Gallowdark sets - any idea why nobody uses them to make competitive ITD maps more interesting maneuvering- and positioning-wise?
I would like some more scatter - bit of heavy in those big rooms would be nice - theres not a ton of seek light this edition so maybe the light barricades are enough? but it does mean you have to use an equipment choice almost as a given or youd be taking a lot of shooting!
Yeah they can deploy in conceal - i think ryan forgot to change the tokens, force of habit but they were played as engage and then he changed the tokens when we realized
Great work! Does Contagion make your opponent's charge 2" further because they are effectively coming within 3"? If the charging model has a Poison counter, that is.
No, because operative stats can't be changed in the middle of an action. If, e.g., a normal operative with 6" movement needs to charge exactly 8" into engagement, they do charge the full 8" into Contagion, then after the charge action ends their movement stat decreases to 4".
RULES EDIT:
Confirmed Poison with Rules Writer so can 100% confirm that in melee operatives do not become poisoned until after the combat has resolved so you wouldn't be able to poison with first strike then get improved damage with second.
Faction point counter for wrecka points is not correct - i was going to try to follow along but they generate and get spent so frequently i just valued my sanity
@@GFNGaming what sanity?
@Granite-ny8up I feel very seen by you 😂
FYI, Bomb Squigs are Stoopid, which means that they cannot choose a conceal order when activated. That is, they start the game concealed, but the moment you activate them on TP1, they must go on engage.
EDIT: Also, at 42:00, when he rolled two 3s, that's a prime time to play Curse Of Rot
@bah9541 yeah that's how we play it 👍🏻 the tokens I think got left as concealed but once we realised they were changed but we know they're on an engage order
@@GFNGaming Great! Also, it was a very fun battle report to watch 👍
Prepping to play Plague Marines in an upcoming kill team league and this shows up? Perfect timing
Same. Just played my first game with them yesterday, they are.....NASTY!!!
Same deal but I’m running the wreckas, TIME FOR SUM BOOM
Turn 2 you can't hatchway fight while in engagement range of enemy operatives so you should have had to fight the squig. Also the demolisher boy rolls his damage separately for each operative when blowing up
Great batrep guys! Very much enjoyed the turn 4 carnage
Cheers bud, haha aye the door on the murder room opened and it did not disappoint
love these videos, lerked from a while and subbed other day. Just got into killteam with a few mates and we are all loving it!
Cheers bud! welcome to Kill Team!
Awesome job as usual! And the mindgames at the end 😂 shooting the squig for fun..
He proper did me! sly dog
That was a fun match - two teams I haven’t played against yet, but will probably have to next week at LVO!
Oh nice! good luck at LVO and most definitely you will come up against them they're both showing up a bunch in the UK meta at the moment. Check the pinned comment if you're into plagues - poison in melee doesn't poison the operative until after the combat resolves so we played it wrong here
22:57 Ryan would have gotten an extra wrecka point here because of kompetitive streak (the target has been shot already this round), which would have been useful for that 0cp destruction in tp3! Awesome bat rep as always though!
It's hot how poison works in melee. Poison effect is applied after the fight action.
@@Dambrikyan confirmed yeah, poison doesn't take effect until after the combat 👍🏻 I'll make a rules edit note
Not really. Poison effect is applied immediately once a successful attack die is resolved, but Toxic is a modifier to stats, and operative stats can't be changed in the middle of an action. This is an important distinction, because Toxic won't take affect during the second hit from the Champion's Plague Sword, but his Grandfather's Blessing will.
Huzzah! Papa Nurgle is pleased!
GG just picked up the starter set myself looking forward to those plague marines
1:08 I'm hardly into the video, but I was lead to believe that you don't need to choose blight grenades as your equipment selection for the bombardier to use them. He has them already?
Oh I will have to check, i don't think he does...but ive be wrong before XD
You appear to be correct.
very cool BR!!!on 47.43 there is no need to shoot the guy , he is poisend and has only one LifePoint left..-> activate him he is gone.. :) automaticly
I could've just moved in conceal to the door and done that valid target take 3 MW cos he was already poisoned! it was a dumb move XD
Absolutely no way your marine can make it to that door at 9:16.
You lose an inch going through the door so now you’re only 4 inch move. Just no way….
but its not a door. hatchways have different rules. opened hatchway is treated as exposed terrain, same as ladders. doors are treated as accessible terrain. correct me if iam wrong its just how i understand it from the rules
@@kllemoKT you got it right, but an opened hatchway is BOTH Exposed and Accessible. Exposed only means you cannot take cover behind it (e.g. for cover, a model's base should be partly behind the part of the hatchway's wall, not right in the doorway) but still keeping the Accessible trait (e.g. a model should pay extra 1" to move through the doorway). The doors themselves, though, are Heavy and Wall, so a model should move around them and not straight through when a hatchway is opened
@ okay, thank a lot :)
7:14 SOULJA BOY TELL EM
😂
Doesnt deffender pick the side they want? Not attacker?
My wording is baked into last edition - whomever takes the initiative then picks the deployment zone, and deploys first - then scouting decides who decides T1 initiative unless its a draw then whomever didn't get initiative chooses. I don't think they're called attacker/defender anymore but effectively using old terminology 'attacker' picks the side this edition.
Where are all the terrain features? xD Great match though!
You bring up an interesting question of "can you retain a die for a Lethal 5+ weapon that only hits on 5+?" I had this question while attacking with the Corpseman of the Blooded. Since you get Accurate 1 with a blooded token. If you attack in melee can you retain a "non-criting hit"?
The rules don't really say whether you are supposed to change all non-6 crits (from Lethal or whatever) into a 6. If you did, then you could retain a 5 as a non-critting hit despite that not being a thing you can actually roll.
In general I wish there was a little more clear timing around modifying/retaining dice. For example, with Punishing (or Rending) and Obscured, can you use the crit to change a blank to a hit (or a hit to a crit) then change all crits to normals and remove 1? In other words, when does Obsuring apply with respect to the various dice mods?
Autoretained dice have no value.
Isn’t disgusting resilient only applied against the first dice damage, at about 24 mins you applied it to all dice in the attack against you?
Nope, it's for every die that inflicts any damage
22:30
Where does lethal 5 come from?
And you're definitely wrong about retaining wreka into critical, it specifies "normal hit"
Lethal 5+ comes from blast into the dark - close quarters rules - still gives blast and torrent the lethal 5 rule. Haha yeah we went back and forth but ended up in agreement on the normal onlys
Awesome, thanks for the explanation
Newbie here still trying to understand some rules, The warrior shooting turn 1. Was the shot obscured because of the light barricade in front or the door way made it an obscured shot?
From what I see, there's a fair chance it wasn't obscured. The barricade doesn't count as it isn't Heavy, only the door frame does. But I'd say they don't get in the way of the "Line Of Sight cone" - ofc we can't measure that ourselves, but doesn't look like they do.
The walls on either side of the doorway.
Welcome to Kill Team! are you enjoying it so far? so the walls on the open door are heavy and Ryan's rockit man was more than 1'' from where my cover line would cross so he'd get obsuring - the barricades placed are light so can only give cover within 1'' but can never grant obscuring- hope that helps :)
@GFNGaming perfect explanation, thank you! Yes I'm loving kill team. My friends and I have got most of the rules down, just certain situations confuse us but we are still having fun.
Damn, these ITD maps for 3 objectives in KT24 are terrible. They could really use some extra scatter terrain from Gallowdark sets - any idea why nobody uses them to make competitive ITD maps more interesting maneuvering- and positioning-wise?
The scatter terrain definitely makes it less of a shooting gallery. My guess is you don't see it because the boarding actions boxes didn't include it.
I would like some more scatter - bit of heavy in those big rooms would be nice - theres not a ton of seek light this edition so maybe the light barricades are enough? but it does mean you have to use an equipment choice almost as a given or youd be taking a lot of shooting!
Do you have some extra sneaky squigs, that don't need to be on engage? 🙃
EDIT: Oh, they sneakilly flipped to engage as a strategic gambit!
All operatives deploy on conceal but squigs have to select engage when activated
@Granite-ny8up Yet they were concealed end of TP1.
I think they realised before TP2 action starts as tokens are changed
Yeah they can deploy in conceal - i think ryan forgot to change the tokens, force of habit but they were played as engage and then he changed the tokens when we realized
Rewards for not spending a CP on a reroll!!!
It's the blatant cheating by Russ I am here for. Not only does he do it, but he films it, doesn't edit it out and then makes his opponent watch......
Great work! Does Contagion make your opponent's charge 2" further because they are effectively coming within 3"? If the charging model has a Poison counter, that is.
No, because operative stats can't be changed in the middle of an action. If, e.g., a normal operative with 6" movement needs to charge exactly 8" into engagement, they do charge the full 8" into Contagion, then after the charge action ends their movement stat decreases to 4".